TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

The Great Hair Catastrophe

on April 11, 2013

So I was over on GoJulesGo’s blog earlier today, and I read about her hair catastrophe. I commented about my own hair catastrophe, and she suggested I tell you, most loyal readers. And since I am totally stumped on what to write about, I thought might as well! (I totally just realized there are a ton of ands in this paragraph…)

Note: None of the pictures in this post are of me. I have no pictures of the events in which I’m about to tell you. They were all (thankfully!) burned in a fire when my house burned down. (I didn’t burn them I swear! I will tell all about the fire some other time. I assure you, you will like this story MUCH better!!)

In the third grade I decided I wanted a perm. I decided this because my mom got perms constantly. She always had curly hair. She naturally straight-as-a-board hair, which she cursed me with lovingly passed on to me. I convinced her to let me get my hair permed. Now, my mother thought tight curl perm would look good. You would think that with her getting a zillion and a half perms she would know better than to put a tight curl perm in a 10 year old’s shoulder length hair, right? WRONG!!!

My hair stylist (who was my mom’s best friend’s aunt) agreed that it would look okay. When she was done she told me to spray some stuff (I don’t really remember what it was but it was essentially watered down hairspray) and a pic (pick?), not a brush, to fix my hair. So. That’s what I did.

What it should have looked like...

What it should have looked like…

On picture day, I decided to let my friend fix my hair. Bad idea! (You can see what’s coming can’t you?) She only did one side of my hair. Now, keep in mind the the more you pic (pick?) a perm the bigger it gets. So. One side of my hair stood out a good foot from my head. The other side? Flat. Well, I mean, not totally flat, but close enough. It definitely wasn’t as big as the other side of my hair. (Alright… I might have exaggerated just a little. It was more like 6 inches. But either way, it was still MASSIVE!!! And I looked like a deranged poodle.) My hair took up basically the whole picture. Needless to say, not my best picture day…

What my hair looked like....almost.... Add a LOT more body

What my hair looked like….almost…. Add a LOT more body

What about you guys? Any crazy hair stories? Parents have your kids or their friends ever tried to fix their own/each other’s/ your hair?

4 responses to “The Great Hair Catastrophe

  1. The Hook says:

    My hair is leaving rather quickly, so my hair story revolves around my lack of hair!

  2. […] I promised the other day that I would tell you how I lost the pictures of the great hair catastrophe. And so here it is. Everyone gather […]

  3. […] you guys read about the perm story right? So we don’t have to rehash it? Awesome! But to those who haven’t read, or found […]

  4. […] everyone remembers The Great Hair Catastrophe right? Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeell……. It has happened again. Yes. You read that right. I have […]

Leave a Reply

