TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

The Story I Promised

on April 14, 2013

Now, I promised the other day that I would tell you how I lost the pictures of the great hair catastrophe. And so here it is. Everyone gather ’round!

Once upon a time, in a far away land…. No, I’m just kidding, that beginning really won’t work. First I have to give you guys a little back story so that it all makes sense.

My mom hit 40 and kind of lost her mind. No. Actually, she lost it when I was in 4th grade and she got a tramp stamp. By 40, she was probably clinically insane. She decided that cheating on my dad with someone literally half her age, and who could have been her son, was a good idea. I figured it out and the Great Fight of Thanksgiving Day ensued. It lasted until just after Christmas when we moved out.

Not my house.

Not my house.

Back to present-ish day. (The day of the fire.)
When the house burned down, a year to the day that we moved into the house, no one was home. My mother, that dude, and I were living in a hotel. My dad, thankfully, and kind of un-thankfully, was at a friends house. It was New Years Eve and he didn’t want to by himself. Totally understandable.

In the house there was a wood stove. In the attic next to the flu there was insulation that had newspaper in it. Newspaper + super hot temperatures = what?  Class? Anyone know? That’s right! Fire! Eventually. See, when a flu (the chimney) is that close to paper it doesn’t immediately burst into flames. Instead it smolders until it comes to a large ball of paper or something more substantial than a sliver of paper. Then you get a roaring inferno.

Thankfully my dad wasn’t home because he is a super sound sleeper and the roof collapsed into my parents bedroom/bathroom and the living room. My room was virtually untouched. (Because of where the roof collapsed, my mother thought that my dad had purposely burnt the house down.)  We ended up having three different fire departments from three different cities at our house because we lived so far out. (Not that it helped, I just though it was cool.)

The pictures of the Great Hair Catastrophe along with a lot of other great pictures were water damaged beyond recovery. What was left untouched by the fire was quickly ransacked and ruined by the druggies that lived down the road.

This is kind of what what of the photo albums looked like. It wasn't this bad but you get the point.

This is kind of what what of the photo albums looked like. It wasn’t this bad but you get the point.

My dad did rebuild the house almost exactly the way it was, except he got rid of some wasted space and added about 2 feet to one side and expanded all three bedrooms. As of yesterday, the house, that I absolutely adore with all my heart and soul, is up for sale.

25 responses to “The Story I Promised

  1. zoe says:

    Now I have to go back and find out about the great hair catastrophe…its all so intriguing!

  2. Vanessa says:

    I’m guessing when your dad rebuilt, he also used less flammable insulation.

    • xdanigirl says:

      Yes!! And an actual fire place instead of wood stove! Also. Forgot to add the wood stove was in the middle of the house, so it heated things well but it was rather painful to walk into. Fireplace in the corner of the house? Much less likely to walk in to it!

  3. How frustrating to have what was left ransacked. Nothing like kicking you when you’re down

    • xdanigirl says:

      Yeah. That’s how a lot of my room got ruined. What clothes hadn’t been ruined by fire or water damage were thrown on the floor on top of the ashes and then it rained. So it was just a big mess. The total price of all the things stolen was probably about $2000.

  4. Joe says:

    I’m working a hair post so I’ll have to go read your hair catastrophe.

  5. iasoupmama says:

    Oh, man… Insult to injury and how awful for all of it. So sorry…

    • xdanigirl says:

      Thanks. A lot of the clothes we saved by washing (they were just smoke damaged and smelled gross) but most of my personal clothing items were in the drawers so I had to buy all new of those.

  6. It’s hard putting homes up for sale and all the memories that go with them. So glad that no one was in the house for the fire, and it’s amazing that your dad rebuilt! Very handy.

    • xdanigirl says:

      My dad didn’t personally rebuild it. He had a company run by a friend build it for him. My room was 4 different color when it was rebuilt. The best room in the whole house!
      And there are some good memories and bad memories there. I’m happy to be getting away from the bad memories but I’m sad about losing the place where so many happy memories were made. By far, my favorite memory was when step mom took me out on the back deck and showed me the ring my dad had got her when he proposed. One of the happiest days of my life.

  7. Oh gosh, such a story. Thank goodness no one was hurt, but I’m sorry about your photos and things.

    • xdanigirl says:

      Aww. I’m nit that upset about the pictures. There where blackmail pictures in there that my mom could have used to sabotage dates. But there where some pictures of Disney World, Cancun, and Vegas in there.
      Thanks, by the way!

  8. Now I guess pictures can be replaced if you have the digital image. That would be so sad to lose all those memories. Sometimes the photos from an event stick more in my head than the actual events. Hope you mom eventually returned to herself. I’ve seen it happen to my friends. Mid-30 to Mid-50. Anybody can oop-out.

    • xdanigirl says:

      Now they can yes. But this was before we figured out that could work.
      When this happened, I was 13. I’m now 21 and still more mature for my mom unfortunately….. But here’s to hoping she grows up (:

  9. 50peach says:

    Heartbreaking. I’m so sorry. 😦 I’m glad too, that no one was hurt!

  10. Larks says:

    Oh, man. Fires are so devastating on so many levels. It’s good no one was hurt. But, wow, your mom had one hell out a mid-life crisis. Yikes!

  11. Wow, catastrophe! I can’t even imagine…

    • xdanigirl says:

      Yeah. We got a lot of help from friends as far as clothes and things. A lot of irreplaceable stuff that I wish I still had was lost. But I was/am just happy everyone was okay and no one was home.

  12. […] were divorcing. My dad thought it would be better for me to stay with my mom. Especially since our house had just burned down and he was living in a small apartment in a friend’s barn. I didn’t think it was a […]

  13. […] time were rebellion really starts right? Well, it got preeetty crazy. When I told you guys about my house burning down, I told you a little about what happened. My mom cheated on my dad and they got divorced. Well […]

  14. […] truck. After a while of driving, he took the blindfolds off and we were standing in front of our newly rebuilt house. My step mom led me out to the back deck after I had excitedly explored my room. We stood there […]

Leave a Reply

