TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

Day 3

on May 4, 2013

Day Three.

Today is our first rough day guys. Today’s truth is something you have to forgive yourself for. This one is a rough one. I try not to regret anything or have to forgive myself anything because everything has made me the person I am today. Everything has strengthened me to be the mom, wife, sister, daughter, sister- and daughter I am today.

This is Old Main. It's the oldest building on campus. It still has classes in it but not many. This is also the most famous building on campus.

This is Old Main. It’s the oldest building on campus. It still has classes in it but not many. This is also the most famous building on campus.

The only thing I need to forgive myself for is not finishing school. I was going to the University of Arkansas right after high school. I was a pre-vet major with a minor in equine (horse) science. I would have gone to school in state for four years. I would then have to go out of state for another four years to finish my degree. The starting annual salary for a veterinary, not specialized, is $30,000. As a single mom, that was the best thing I could ask for. But, second semester of school, I lost my enthusiasm. I didn’t get to be a normal college student. I had a baby to take care of, meaning I couldn’t go out every night, I couldn’t go party with my friends, I couldn’t do anything that I wanted to do. So, I just didn’t get up for class. I got up and took my baby to take care and then went back home and went back to bed. If I had gone to class like I was supposed to, I would be doing finals in my junior year. I would be graduating next May from my first four years of school.

I need to forgive myself for giving up. I need to smack myself in the face and say get over it. I need to put on my big girl panties and just get over it. I can’t change the past now, all I can do is work to better my future. The best laid plans can be ruined. That’s just a fact of life. I have had plans to go back to school to get different degrees and to just get my basics out of the way. But to go to school you have to have money. To have money, you have to have a job. Being a stay at home mom doesn’t get you any money. So, it’s just a matter of figuring out another alternative.

 

So guys, have you gone to school for anything? How did it go?

Leave a Reply

