TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

Let’s Play Catch!

on May 7, 2013

Catch up, that is… Sorry I missed my day yesterday! I was sick. I have no clue what happened. One minute I was sitting at my desk, joking around with one of the guys, and the next I’m speeding home as fast as I can trying not to pull over to get sick. It was crazy guys.. I was going to do a post but my oh so lovely computer wasn’t cooperating last night… I’m about to just throw the stupid thing out the window and call it good! But anyways. We are going to do two days today. So let’s get started, shall we?

Day Cinq (that’s five for those who don’t speak French!)

Yesterday’s day is something that you hope to do in your life. Since we’ve already covered school, and in case you guys didn’t know I would love to go back, we will go over something else. When I was younger, we went to a rodeo in Texas. Or I think it was a rodeo. Anyway, I told my dad that I was going to win the National Finals Rodeo in barrel racing in that arena. To this day, that is still something that I would like to accomplish!

Now, if you guys haven’t seen anyone barrel race before here is the first thing you should know: it’s on horse back. (Me? Talking about horses and my love for them? Crazy, I know.) There are three barrels set up in a triangle formation. You can either go to the left or right first. But, either way, you are timed. If you knock over a barrel, it adds a five second penalty. (Tip for beginners: DO NOT LEAN TOWARDS THE BARRELS YOU WILL FALL OFF. I personally never fell off but it was a close one.) The winning time, I think, is either 16 point something or 17 seconds flat. Doesn’t that sound fun?! No? Alrighty, it’s just me. Kay.

This is the pattern. they are obviously labeled wrong. The right start is on the left and the left start is on the right. If that makes sense...

This is the pattern. they are obviously labeled wrong. The right start is on the left and the left start is on the right. If that makes sense…

But  seriously guys, if you ever get the chance to run barrels or go watch someone run barrels, I highly suggest you go. It’s fun and you get an adrenaline rush just from watching! (I was looking up pictures to show you guys what the pattern looks like and ohmigosh!! It has me itching to be on a horse!! I’m about to go insane… Like literally. Pulling my hair out, running and scream down the street, buck naked. Well…maybe not that crazy…)

This, ladies and gents, is why you do not lean!!

This, ladies and gents, is why you do not lean!!

Day Six

Okay guys, we are going to get serious here for a minute. Today’s day is something that you never have to do. This one is going to be pretty serious. I hope I never have to bury a child.

Have you guys seen the movie Steel Magnolias? I don’t want to spoil the movie, but there is no way to not. Gah.. Okay. A mom has to bury her daughter. I’m not going to tell you who, (because, honestly, I don’t remember) or why, (again, I don’t remember) or when, just that she that she has to bury her daughter.  And let me tell you guys, I  cried. My. Freaking. Eyes. Out. At that movie. So, if you haven’t seen it, be prepared.

There are some lovely ladies in this movie!! You guys should really watch it if you haven't!!

There are some lovely ladies in this movie!! You guys should really watch it if you haven’t!!

That movie made me really think about something tragic like that. And now that I have kids, it really makes you think. And it scars the bajeesus out of me. You aren’t supposed to bury your children, they are supposed to bury you!

And since i was so mean and made you guys all sad and stuff here is a cute puppy giving you a high five!!

And since i was so mean and made you guys all sad and stuff here is a cute puppy giving you a high five!!

Leave a Reply

