TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

We’re Just Going to Skip This One….

on May 9, 2013

Day Eight. This one really doesn’t need any explanation. We are just going to skip it…. Today’s truth is about someone who has made your life hard or treated you like crap. That person would be my son’s dad. But, instead of going into all the baby daddy drama that no one likes to here you guys can just reference this post, this post, and this post. So why don’t we just jump right on day nine?

Day Nine. This truth is about someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted. Now, for me, there are many people like this. I grew up a lot faster than a lot of my friends so it’s obvious I would lose some of them. I was going to tell you guys about two people, but I realized how long it would be with the back story and everything. I’m not going to force you guys to read that. So I will just talk about one person.

I met this person when I lived three hours away from my home town. Her name and her clothes where the first two things I noticed about her. Her name is Xylee-Ezra Harris. Her first name is pronounced Zilee, with a long “i”. Her clothes. Ohmigosh, I fell in love with her clothes. She dressed in every thing I wished I had the balls to wear. It was vintage, it was cool, it was things normal people wouldn’t wear. And that is one thing I did not want to be after everything that happened. I didn’t want to be normal. Her, another girl named Lindsay, and I where The Three Musketeers. We were inseparable. Best friends till the end.

Then I moved. Lindsay and I lost touch soon after that, but Xylee and I stayed close through Facebook. She also rode up with my mom to come get me one weekend. And complained about my driving skills on the way back. But before that trip, during my junior year of high school, my world came crashing down when Lindsay called me and told me Xylee had tried to kill herself and was committed to a mental hospital. Lindsay had been know to exaggerate a lot of things. So, I called Xylee’s house. Her little brother asked. Her little brother took things like this very hard. He was a quiet kid so I didn’t want to trigger anything. I asked as delicately as I could and what Lindsay told me was true.

I saw her three times after this. She has since moved to Louisiana. I keep track of her through Facebook, when she does get on. The only time we really talk is on each other’s birthday and it’s only long enough to say happy birthday. It’s painfully obvious that I have no place in her life anymore. I would love to sit down and talk to her and just catch up, maybe relive some adventures we had.

Xylee will always have a special place in my heart. I will always love her dearly. She was there for me through some pretty rough times. She was my rock when I needed her. My biggest regret is not being the rock that she needed. I know, I say I try to not have any of those. But the key word there is try sometimes it just doesn’t work that way. I only hope that the friends she has now are everything I couldn’t be and more.

 

Unfortunately, I don't have any pictures of us anymore...

Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of us anymore…

4 responses to “We’re Just Going to Skip This One….

  1. The Hook says:

    Beautiful, heartfelt post, my friend.
    Well done.

  2. damn, sounds like xylee was a bitch for not keeping in touch……or maybe she just lost herself.– HEX

Leave a Reply

