TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

Life Must Go On

on May 13, 2013

It surprised me when she started to talk. I thought she’d left. Thought she’d got in her little green, kiwi colored sports car and sped away leaving me forever.

“I still love you, you know,” she whispered, ever so quietly. “That’s not going to change. We are just two totally different people now.”

I put my head in my hands. I didn’t know what she was talking about. My world revolved around her. I couldn’t see myself being without her. But after what she did to me… I just didn’t know if I could get past it. The betrayal, the pain, the hurt. There were just so many feelings I didn’t know how to deal with them all. Guess that’s life, though. It throws you curve balls you never expect.

Click. Click Click. Her heels clicked across the kitchen tile. She placed a kiss on my cheek and headed for the door. Click. Click. Click. Out the door she went. I wondered if I would ever see her again. Would I know what to say? Would it be awkward? I took a swig of the delicious scotch in front of me. Well. Life must go on, I guess.

 

______________________________________________________

I feel like a newbie to the Speakeasy this week! Here’s the challenge for this week. Start with a sentence provided and reference a picture. Go check it out and see what those other great writers are up to!! Don’t forget to vote!! 

 

10 responses to “Life Must Go On

  1. The Hook says:

    Well done, my friend!

  2. LondonS says:

    Good one! Love the ‘kiwi colored sports car!’

  3. Adaobi says:

    Don’t worry, you weren’t the only newbie…

  4. Now I want a little kiwi car! Life is full of surprises, truth indeed.

  5. well, if you’re going to be betrayed & left alone, I guess it’s fortunate to have some good Scotch on hand 😉 (cute idea w/ the kiwi-colored car too)

  6. iasoupmama says:

    Oh, man. I’m with the fella — pass the Scotch!

Leave a Reply

