TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

Part Numero Uno.

on May 13, 2013

The day I scared myself so bad I almost stopped driving, I had (thankfully) already dropped my little man off at daycare and was on my way to my seven o’clock class. I always took back roads to school because I drove a 1996 Dodge Neon. Needless to say, it did not do good on the highway. So. I was driving down the road and  I started dozing off. Craaaaaap, I was thinking, I’m going to fall asleep at the wheel and wreck and get hurt or die. Sooo I’m driving along, and all of a sudden BANG!!! I hit something.

I look over and see a low yellow wall. This wall has been there forever. If I stood next to it it would hit be about mid calf. On the other side of this low wall is a shallow ditch. Not deep enough to kill anyone, I don’t think, but its deep enough to really rattle you if you were to go over the wall. My dad, the mechanic, was the first person I called.

“Dad! I just almost ran off the road. I fell asleep while driving and I hit that little yellow wall in Johnson by Michael’s house!!” I was freaking out. My heart was racing and I was scared out of my mind.

“Is the car okay? Can you still drive it?” where his only two questions. Yes the car is okay and yes I can still drive it. Good, he said, then go to school. So. Off to school I went.

This is what my car looked like waaaay before I got it!

This is what my car looked like waaaay before I got it!

At the time of this accident, I was working four in the afternoon to midnight Mondays and Fridays, nine in the morning to six in the evening on Saturdays, and noon to nine at night on Sundays. I was also taking twelve hours of classes, working an internship from one in the afternoon to four in the afternoon at the university barn, and feeding horses Wednesday and Thursday nights. On top of taking care of a six month old baby, by myself. Talk about an overload…

Every time I drive past that wall, I have a flash back and scare the crap out of myself. To this day, I think about how bad it could have ended if I had been anywhere else. Had I been on the highway or on just about any other road I could have gone off the road and hit something much more substantial. Every day I thank my lucky stars that I had been on that road when I had fallen asleep.

15 responses to “Part Numero Uno.

  1. Driving tired is never pleasant. Glad you (and your car) weren’t hurt.

  2. modmomelleroy says:

    You had a lot on your plate and you literally hit a wall. 😉

  3. zoe says:

    I am always terrified of this occurance. THank goodness you werent hurt. It must have been an eye opener (no pun intended …really) to realize this can happen so innocently.

    • xdanigirl says:

      Yes it was! After that I invested in those caffeine pills called No-Doze. And let me tell ya, those things REALLY work!! Take one of them bad boys and you are UP!!!

  4. Karen says:

    Scary. Driving has always been one of my least favorite activities. I’m glad you weren’t hurt, and I hope your life isn’t so busy these days. That’s way too much stuff for one human to juggle.

    • xdanigirl says:

      It’s still busy but not that busy. I’m okay with driving as long as it’s bright and sunshiny. I hate driving at night (I’m night blind) and I hate driving in the rain (another super scary event happened while I was pregnant).

  5. Joe says:

    I hate driving, more so since I developed double vision two weeks ago. I should probably stay off the road.

  6. Whew, thank goodness you were okay! I’ve lived that stress-ball life, working multiple jobs & going to school. Dangerous stuff, man.

  7. I hit things all of the time . . . . I need to stop multitasking as I drive! Glad to hear you’re okay.

  8. erin graves says:

    Talk about a close call — so glad you are ok! Amazing how we push ourselves to the brink and it takes a large wake-up call that alerts us that we need to slow down.

    • xdanigirl says:

      I drove past that wall the other day and glanced over the edge. It wasn’t a long way down but the rocks at the bottom would have caused a lot of damage. Which was the scary part.
      I push myself pretty hard but after that, I’ve definitely not pushed as hard.

Leave a Reply

