TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

The Funeral

on May 20, 2013

My life began with a funeral. I didn’t know it at the time, but that was the starting point. The point when everything changed. The moment that I vowed to never be the same. Now, standing on the dock looking over the mesmerizing Everglades, I can’t help but wonder what would have happened if he had never left me. What would have been different? What would have been the same?

I turned my back to the glorious sunset and thought about about how much had changed. How much had changed for the better. I had escaped. I’d gotten free. Free from a horrible marriage, from crushing depression, from mind-numbing fear. Everything was going to be okay. Everything is okay.

Thank you to the wonderful Stephanie for our prompt this week!! Congrats again girl!! Go check out her post and everyone else’s!! Feel free to join in!! 

12 responses to “The Funeral

  1. I love the hopeful note on which this ends…

  2. LondonS says:

    Very positive… well done!

  3. what a twist you gave us. I like your questions: “What would have been different…the same?”

  4. iasoupmama says:

    I love that the narrator is embracing this change and moving forward.

  5. Introspective. I like it.

  6. zoe says:

    You accomplished a lot in a very tight space. Well done.

  7. It’s a shame her freedom was through death. Very good narrative.

  8. jon says:

    I like it when everything is okay, and that’s most of the time. This piece is a nice piece of the human experience.

Leave a Reply

