TheLifeandTimesofaMom

Life and Times of a Mommy(:

This Can’t Be Happening.

on May 20, 2013

“Oh. My. Gosh!” were the only words that could describe the utter terror I felt when I ripped out half my eyebrow thanks to a lovely face mask I found on Pintrest Friday night. Yes. You read that right. I ripped out part of my eye brow. With a face mask. Found on Pintrest.

“What?! What did you do?” my husband asked from his spot on the other side of the room. As I explained his face went from horror to amusement to trying not to laugh as his wife stood over him on the verge of tears. Tears of pain and humiliation.

The mask I found was a DIY mask that had two ingredients: milk and unflavored gelatin. You mix a tablespoon or so of each, microwave it for a few seconds, and immediately apply it to your face. Once it hardens you peel it off. The thing said that it pulls out black heads and leaves your face baby butt smooth. I was all for this because I just had about 500 black heads pop up on my chin, nose, and forehead.

So it got hard (that’s what she said…sorry couldn’t resist), and I started pulling the mask off. Man, it was like waxing!! I pulled off a couple pieces next to my eyebrow and noticed a few hairs but ignored it. I got the stuff of my chin, most of my forehead, my nose, and a little off my jaw. (It wouldn’t harden on my jaw for some reason.) Then I went to pull it off of my eyebrow… Aaaaaaand there went half of it. In my hand. Needless to say, I didn’t go anywhere Saturday and the only reason I got out of my house Sunday was because my grandma needed me to come help her jump start her car. Which turned into a trip to the grocery store. Then I just thought “what the hell…might as well go to church…”. And I’m of course at work…

Thankfully no one has said anything about it unless I point it out. So, obviously I haven’t pointed it out to too many people. Just two of my best friends and my grandma. They were nice enough to not bust out laughing at me like my husband almost did… Guess it’s time to invest in a brow pencil… Hopefully I can’t screw that up to bad.

And for your viewing pleasure, my lovely missing eyebrow...

And for your viewing pleasure, my lovely missing eyebrow…

48 responses to “This Can’t Be Happening.

  1. vickidean123 says:

    That sucks so bad! Beauty comes at such a cost. Lol!

  2. Karen says:

    Maybe you’ll start a new fashion trend.

    P.S. I love the visuals – especially the gelatin encrusted eyebrow hair.

    • xdanigirl says:

      I hope if I start a new trend people will find a new way to get the hair off. That stuff HURT!! It was like waxing!

      And thanks! I thought about including my gelatin covered face but I had already deleted that picture. Didn’t want to scar people for life! Ha!

  3. ardenrr says:

    BAHAHAHAHA — Sorry, I couldn’t resist! I’m always terrified of doing something like that. Good news? They grow back 🙂

  4. samanthabmerel says:

    that’s horrifying! but how does the rest of your face feel? did it work the way they said it would, except for the eyebrow situation?

    • xdanigirl says:

      My face was baby butt smooth!! (It’s not now because I have crazy weird and just plain stupid skin.) I was also later told NOT to do this because, while it does all those awesome things (like pull out lip hair and blackheads and all other unwanted things on your face) it also pulls up good skin and can actually be bad for your face.

  5. Yyyyowwwwch. I think there’s a blog for the things that can go wrong with pinterest projects. This seems to fall into that category.

  6. Brie E says:

    That’s awful! But some small part of me is so thankful you went through this and I didn’t. I think, sometimes, that’s half the reason I blog: so that I can be the mistake to teach others. Pencil it up!! 🙂

  7. Daniel Nest says:

    Oooouch! Also, I see you’re my “that’s what she said” partner in crime. My fiancee isn’t too fond of it, but that hasn’t stopped me.

    • xdanigirl says:

      It’s so fun to add on to things!! I have to watch what I say though because my three year old has entered the “I’m going to repeat everything I hear” stage…

  8. Ouch. OUCH!
    Of course, I had to find the fail blog you were talking about. Here’s the link: http://www.pinterestfail.com/ in case you wonder to share your cautionary tale after Yeah Write closes for the week.
    Ouch.

  9. mamarific says:

    Oh my gosh, this is why Pinterest scares the hell out of me!

  10. Ack!! Leave it to Pinterest!

  11. Tua says:

    I totally remember this face mask. I think I even kept it in my reading list for some day I had the courage to do it. Well, after reading your very painful post (literally, I constantly felt pain at the thought of ripping the eyebrow off); I wouldn’t try that mask at all. My sincere condolences. :/

  12. Ouch! This sounds just like something I would do! Thanks for the warning!

  13. Larks says:

    Pinterest is dangerous territory, man! I’ve definitely had my share of epic Pinterest fails…

  14. iasoupmama says:

    Eeep! And ouch! And I don’t think I’ll ever try that one…

  15. Gina says:

    Oh!!! Crap!!! That’s probably like a bad bikini wax 😉

    • xdanigirl says:

      HA!! This almost made me laugh out loud at my desk! But, yes, it was VERY much like a bad bikini wax. Wait….. When are bikini waxes ever good?! They always hurt…

  16. modmomelleroy says:

    omg – ouch! Good ‘ol Pinterest.

  17. gem says:

    This reminded me of when a coworker wanted to demonstrate natural skin care, but forgot the right ingredients and scrounged the staff fridge for supplies. So we had avocado maple syrup (instead of honey) mask, and strawberry banana mask. It was unique.

  18. dberonilla says:

    Oh man! MEGA OUCH!! But at least you got an entertaining story out of it! Haha.

  19. The Cutter says:

    I suppose that’s why God gave us two eyebrows – Just in case something happens to one of them!

  20. I had that happen once when waxing and lost half a brow. It kind of sucked, but I loved writing about it. Thanks for sharing your own story, and I will make sure to stay away from gelatin milk masks. 🙂

  21. nataliedeyoung says:

    Ugh ugh ugh. Yes, brow pencil!

  22. Note to self: Do not try this at home if I find it on pinterest!

  23. Emma says:

    I think you should pin the DIY facemask and this post on a “PINTERSHIT” board. You know… as a public service announcement. Holy moly—I’d cry!

  24. mollytopia says:

    The WORST! No good skincare deed goes unpunished…Anastasia makes a great brow grooming kit. You can order it on Sephora.com. So sorry that happened, but I hope the rest of your skin looks aMAZing : )

Leave a Reply

